May 2012

Wow, time is flying by.  I am super excited to be on this journey.  This has been one of my goals for the past 6 years.  There are many men, women, and youth sporting their natural hair; writing articles, blogging, product reviewing, and marketing this trendy gold mine.  You see kinky styles in the corporate arena, in commercials, and on the big screen with celebrities stepping up and being seen.  To all my natural hair brothers and sisters; I have a new respect for your dreadlocks, sister locs, shaved heads, brush waves, fros, braids, twist, etc.  I am learning the lingo from meetups, group pages, and local events around Detroit.  It seems everyone is jumping on the bandwagon.    This is not a “Black Thing,” folks of all nationalities are adding flair and creativity to their natural hair.

So far I learned I have 4c hair type from (curlynikki) http://www.curlynikki.com. If that means really thick, dense and nappy, then that describes my hair.  A year ago, I could not embrace my kinky, coily, ziggly texture, but  now I cherish every strand.  I can’t wait to do the two strand twist method I learned on Youtube.  Note to self,  research henna coloring for hair.  When my hair grows a bit more, I will wear half wigs with the curly, wavy, or natural look.  Visit www.bestwigoutlet.com/Half-Wigs and search for half wigs.

I have been thinking about a blog for my 5 year old son’s hair growth.   His hair had grown past his shoulders before he turned one.  I had his hair cut by a barber so I can manage it better.   Everyone was watching and said, “Are you sure you want to cut all that hair, it is so pretty?”  I said yes, cut it.  The barber let me cut the  first long, thick, and soft curly braid.  Currently, I am allowing him to grow out his mohawk.  I will let you know what I decide.

I will add some humor to my 6 month transition video.  See you next month.  This is “Treasure”, your sister, your auntie, your neighbor and friend.  Peace and blessings.

Leave a comment